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BACKGROUND

The proposed rule adopts California motor vehicle emission standards for use in
Washington which will result in lower emitting vehicles being produced for, and
sold in, Washington.  This Low Emissions Vehicle rule adopts emission
standards more stringent than federal vehicle emission standards.

DESCRIPTION AND PURPOSE OF THE SBEIS

The objective of this SBEIS is to identify and evaluate the various requirements
and costs that the rule might impose on business. In particular, the SBEIS
examines whether the costs impose a disproportionate impact on the State s
small businesses. The specific purpose/required contents of the SBEIS can be
found in RCW 19.85.040.

IMPACT STATEMENT

This rule will affect franchise auto dealers (new cars) and independent auto
dealers (used cars) in Washington.  The rule also affects vehicle manufacturers.
However, they have no facilities in Washington that must be analyzed under the
small business impact provisions.  There are 435 franchise auto dealers,
operating at 651 locations, and 2,225 independent auto dealers.  Franchise
dealers are almost always larger than independent auto dealers because they
are required to have repair facilities to do warranty work and must meet other
manufacturer requirements.  New vehicles never before titled and registered,
which are over 90% of the vehicles affected by this rule, can be sold only by
franchise auto dealers.  Independent auto dealers only rarely have service and
repair facilities.  Under the rule, all 2009 and later model year vehicles with less
than 7,500 miles sold for use in Washington have to be certified to California
standards.   The auto dealers estimate that roughly 95% of low mileage used
vehicles with under 7,500 miles will be sold by franchise dealers, most of the rest
will be sold by independent dealers, and a small number will be sold by
individuals.

The normal day to day cost of selling vehicles and acquiring vehicles to sell is not
affected by these rules.  Regarding the acquisition of inventory after the rules are
effective, dealers must only buy California certified vehicles for their inventory.
Franchise dealers must order new California certified vehicles from
manufacturers and all dealers will need to only buy used inventory from
individuals, auctions, or other dealers that are also California certified.  Ecology
determines there is no substantial cost to this; it is simply one more specification
they need to have.  The cost of this inventory may be higher in that new



California certified vehicles are expected to cost on average about $1,000 more
per vehicle than federally certified vehicles.  That increase is expected to
increase the price of used vehicles in the future.  Ecology believes this increased
cost will be passed on to consumers and will not substantially affect dealer
margins.

Regarding the sale of vehicles, the primary costs of advertising and selling the
vehicles remains the same.  Dealers are also required to register vehicles for
their customers.  No additional record-keeping or data handling affecting
registration is required by these rules.  Licensing agents will be required to use
the information supplied in a slightly different way than without the rule.  No new
information or records are being required of dealers.

The rule does affect auto dealers in the following ways:

• Staff time needed to accommodate possible inspections by Ecology staff.
• Staff time needed to respond to possible information requests or possible

fines if a dealer is violating the law.

These effects are responses to possible  inspection or compliance actions by
Ecology.  Ecology does not expect compliance actions will be more heavily
directed at smaller auto dealers.  Ecology is planning to analyze reports from
manufacturers and from Department of Licensing.  The Department of Licensing
database will help guide where inspections, information requests or other
compliance actions will be targeted.  Inspections and compliance actions will not
be based on the size of the dealership.  Because of this, small businesses would
not be disproportionately impacted by Ecology s choice of compliance activities.
Dealers at the Ecology advisory committee estimated that an inspection might
take two or three hours of staff time.  That is consistent with Ecology s
expectation of the time we might spend in on-site inspections, especially after we
have gained experience.  There are approximately 2,600 dealers in Washington
State.  A relatively small number of dealership inspections will be completed
each year.  The small cost of an inspection, the relatively small number of
dealers affected each year, and the fact that targeting of these inspections is
independent of dealer size demonstrates there is no expectation that smaller
dealers will be affected disproportionately from larger dealers.

Licensing subagents are also affected by these rules.  In Washington vehicles
can be licensed either by County Auditors or by private businesses called
subagents.  County auditors are agents  for Department of Licensing and the
private businesses are licensed by the auditors as subagents.   The private
subagents all have less than 50 employees and licensing counters are often are
staffed by one person.

The main effect of the legislation and rule is that licensing agents will have to
document that new vehicles and used vehicles with less than 7,500 miles are



California certified.  For new vehicles the Manufacturer s Statement of Origin
(MSO) provides readily available documentation of California certification.  For
used vehicles with less than 7,500 miles subagents will have to examine an extra
form submitted by the dealers.  If an individual is registering such a low mileage
used vehicle, they will need to also supply extra documentation to prove that the
vehicle is California certified.  If the vehicle qualifies for an exemption, there will
also be extra documentation required.  Explaining the requirements to individuals
registering vehicles with less than 7,500 miles or needing an exemption is
expected to take the most time.   DOL estimates that 11,000 vehicles, or about
4% of WA registrations are purchases from out of state and will be registered by
the individual purchaser rather than a dealer.  This is a small fraction of the
overall registrations, but additional time may be needed to handle some of these
transactions. The effect of handling these requirements is not expected to
increase staffing needs or otherwise substantially increase the costs of the
subagents, especially in the longer run.  There will, however, be a learning
curve  regarding application of the new requirements.

It is likely to take some time for licensing agents  staff to learn the new
requirements.  There is an ongoing system operated by Department of Licensing
for training licensing agents.  DOL maintains a licensing subagent mailbox
where emails that update procedures and provide solutions to problems are
distributed.  Training materials will be developed by the Department of Licensing
and the Department of Ecology, so the subagent cost is primarily the time
needed to learn the new requirements.  With two years before these
requirements go into effect, some of the training can be accomplished through
existing training mechanisms.  Subagents may need to spend extra time on
training since there are a number of different requirements that will now apply to
licensing and titling.  Most of these requirements are directly from the legislation.
The proposed rule did not include some exemptions provided for in other states,
so costs associated with exemptions are minimized in this rule.

Licensing subagents meet the regulatory definition of a small businesses but
there is no demonstrated disproportionate impact under the Regulatory Fairness
Act.  The costs for licensing agents to learn the new rules and to register and title
vehicles should be minimal given the long lead time available.

Ecology could not determine any disproportional impacts from this rule on
franchise dealers, independent dealers or licensing subagents.


