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In 2007, the legislature raised the upper limit for natural
resource damages from $50 to $100 per gallon of oil spilled into
the waters of the state. Current mathematical formulas in
regulation are unable to calculate damages above $50 per
gallon. Ecology is amending the formulas so that the full $1 to
$100 range of the compensation required in state law can be
calculated.

What is Chapter 173-183 WAC?

Chapter 173-183 describes how the compensation schedules
are used and establishes procedures for:

= Convening the RDA committee.

= Preassessment screening of resource damages
resulting from oil spills to determine which damage
assessment method to use.

* Determining damages in cases where a
compensation schedule is applied as the damage
assessment method.

Summary of the rule changes adopted on
March 10, 2009

The following changes to the compensation schedules were
made so that the new $1 to $100 per gallon range of
compensation could be calculated:

* Marine and estuarine waters multiplier changed
from 0.1 to 0.208 in WAC 173-183-830.

= Columbia River estuary multiplier changed from
0.2 to 0.508 in WAC 173-183-840.

= Fresh water streams, rivers, and lakes multiplier
changed from 0.08 to 0.162 in WAC 173-183-850.

= Fresh water wetlands multiplier changed from 0.81
to 1.620 in WAC 173-183-860.

WHY IT MATTERS

This rule ensures that the
State of Washington and its
citizens are adequately
compensated for the cost of
injury to natural resources
from oil spills.

Compensation from oil spills
is often directed toward
habitat restoration projects.

The rule becomes effective

April 10, 20009.

Contact information:
Harry Chichester

Spills Program Rules
Coordinator

(360) 407-7202
Hchi461@ecy.wa.qgov

Special accommodations:

If you need this publication in
an alternate format, call the
Spill Prevention,
Preparedness & Response at
360-407-7202. Persons with
hearing loss, call 711 for
Washington Relay Service.
Persons with a speech
disability, call 877-833-6341.
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* Ceiling limit maximum in multiplier descriptions changed to $100 per gallon.

Response to Comments

Ecology’s response to comments received during the public comment period is now available.
Download a copy at http:/ /www.ecy.wa.gov/programs/spills/rules/current activity files/
173_183.html.

Does this rule affect me?

This change in regulation will not affect you unless you are responsible for an oil spill. If it is
determined that you are responsible for a discharge of oil into the waters of the state, this
change will require you to pay compensation ranging from $1 to $100 per gallon of oil spilled.
Compensation for natural resource damage is separate from fines or penalties for the oil
discharge or the reimbursement for response and oil spill cleanup costs.

When does the rule become effective?

The rule becomes effective April 10, 2009.

More information

To get updates on Ecology’s rule-making activities, sign-up for the WAC Track e-mail list.
Go to: www.ecy.wa.gov/maillist.html.

Appeal procedures

This adoption can be appealed under procedures described in the Administrative Procedure Act
(RCW 34.05.330). For additional information about appealing this adoption please contact Jerry
Thielen, Ecology’s Regulatory Affairs Manager at (360) 407-7551 or by email
jthi461@ecy.wa.gov.
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