
Vessel Oil Spill Penalties* 
Washington State                         USCG – Port State                                                 Oregon State 

DISCHARGE 

Up to $10,000 per discharge with each day of discharge a 

separate violation. 

DISCHARGE – Administrative Penalties (by the CG) 

Class 1 penalty – up to $15,000 per violation to a 

maximum of $40,000;  

Class 2 penalty – up to $15,000 per day of violation up to 

a maximum of $190,000. 

DISCHARGE 

Up to $25,000 per discharge with each day of discharge a 

separate violation. 

NEGLIGENT DISCHARGE  

Up to $100,000 per violation with each day oil poses a 

risk to the environment a separate violation. 

DISCHARGE – Civil Penalties (by a federal court) 

Up to $40,000 per day of discharge; or $1,100 per barrel 

of oil or hazardous substance discharged. 

NEGLIGENT DISCHARGE  

Up to $100,000 per violation. 

RECKLESS OR INTENTIONAL DISCHARGE 

Up to $500,000 per violation with each day oil poses a 

risk to the environment a separate violation. 

GROSS NEGLIGENCE OR WILLFUL 

MISCONDUCT 

Judicial Assessment - A minimum of $130,000 and not 

more than $4,000 per barrel of oil discharged. 

INTENTIONAL DISCHARGE 

Up to $25,000 per violation. 

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH STATE LAW, 

RULES OR ORDERS 

Up to $10,000 per violation with each day of 

noncompliance a separate violation. 

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH PORT AND 

WATERWAY SAFETY ACT REGULATIONS – 

Administrative Penalties 

Up to $40,000. 

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH STATE LAW, 

RULES OR ORDERS 

Up to $25,000 per violation with each day of 

noncompliance a separate violation. 

FAILURE TO HAVE A STATE APPROVED OIL 

SPILL CONTINGENCY PLAN OR FINANCIAL 

RESPONSIBILITY 

Up to $100,000 per violation with each day of 

noncompliance a separate violation. 

FAILURE TO COMPLY WITH REGULATIONS 

ISSUED UNDER 33 USC §1321 (j) – Civil Penalties 

Up to $40,000 per day of violation. *  *  *  INTENTIONALLY LEFT BLANK   *  *  * 

FAILURE TO IMMEDIATELY NOTIFY 

WASHINGTON STATE (1-800-258-5990 or 253-912-

4904) 

Up to $10,000 per violation with each day a separate 

violation. 

FAILURE TO IMMEDIATELY NOTIFY 

NATIONAL RESPONSE CENTER (1-800-424-8802 

or 202-267-2675) 

Federal crime: upon conviction up to 5 years in prison, 

and/or a maximum fine of $250,000 for individuals, or 

$500,000 for organizations. 

FAILURE TO IMMEDIATELY NOTIFY OREGON 

STATE  (1-800-452-0311 or 503-378-6377) 

Up to $25,000 per violation with each day a separate 

violation. 

* Responsible Party for the spill may also pay costs for response and cleanup, damages to natural resources, state and federal expenses, and third party damages. 

In case of an oil spill, contact the following agencies immediately:

WASHINGTON: U.S. Coast Guard 800-424-8802 

or 202-267-2675 & Washington Emergency 

Management Department 800-258-5990 or 253-912-

4904 & WSMC (Puget Sound) 206-448-7557 
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OREGON: U.S. Coast Guard 800-424-8802 or 

202-267-2675 & Oregon Emergency Management 

800-452-0311 or 503-378-6377  

& MFSA (Columbia River) 503-220-2055 

DISCLAIMER: This informational guide is 

provided for your use.  The information contained 

herein is subject to change and does not include 

other liabilities that may be levied.  Contact the 

agencies listed for more information.  

 

 


