
What is the Law? 
 
 
 
The law states that even where burning is per- 
mitted, everyone should try to reduce burning 
to the greatest extent possible. 

 
 
 
 

 
 

Why? 
 

 
 

Even unprocessed natural vegetation such 
as lawn clippings, leaves and pine needles 
produces air pollution when burned.  This 
includes carbon monoxide and fine     
particles which, when inhaled into the 
lungs, can have serious health effects. 

 
 

Children, the elderly and those suffering 
from chronic respiratory conditions such 
as asthma, emphysema and bronchitis 
are the most vulnerable to poor air quality. 
Reducing air pollution is one way Ecology 
is working to decrease toxics in the      
environment. 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 

 

For more information:  

Washington Department of Ecology 
Central Regional Office 

15 West Yakima Avenue - Suite 200 
Yakima, WA 98902-3452 

(509) 575-2490 
 

Toll-free Air Quality and Smoke 
Complaint Line: 

1-866-211-6284 

www.ecy.wa.gov/BreatheTheDifference 

Publication #06-02-017-E (rev. 5/2013) 

If you need this document in a format for the visually 
impaired, call the Air Quality Program at 360-407-6800. 
Persons with hearing loss can call 711 for Washington 

Relay Service. Persons with a speech disability can call 
877-833-6341. 

 
 
 

Learn Before 
You Burn 

 

in 
 

Central 
 

Washington 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

A Resident’s Guide to Outdoor 
Burning Regulations and Resources 

for Chelan, Douglas, Kittitas, 
Klickitat, and Okanogan Counties 

 

 

http://www.ecy.wa.gov/BreatheTheDifference


What can I burn? 
 

 
• If you live outside an Urban Growth 

Area (UGA)*, you can burn your yard 
and garden trimmings. You may burn 
one pile at a time. Your pile must be less 
than 4 feet wide by 3 feet high, and must 
be at least 50 feet from structures. Piles 
larger than this require an Ecology burn 
permit. 

• Recreational fires such as campfires and 
barbeques are allowed. Only burn      
briquettes, propane, and bare, untreated, 
dry firewood. 

• All other outdoor burning requires a   
permit. Contact Ecology and your local 
fire department for more information 
on permits required for your project. 

 
 

* To find out if you are in an UGA, contact 
your local planning department. 

 

 
 
 

When can I burn? 
 

 
You must always notify your local fire 
department before you burn.  You can call 
the Agricultural Burn Hotline or visit       
Ecology’s website to find out if it is a good 
day to burn in your area. 

What can’t I burn? 
 
• If you live in an UGA*, you may not burn 

residential or land clearing debris. 
• You may not dispose of yard and garden 

trimmings in a recreational fire. 
• It is illegal to burn ANYTHING in a 

burn barrel, including natural vegetation. 
• It is illegal to do agricultural burning or land 

clearing burning without a permit. 
 
 

* To find out if you are in an UGA, contact 
your local planning department. 

 

What happens if 
I burn when I’m not 

supposed to? 
 

You can be fined up to $10,000 per day, per 
violation! Know the rules before you burn! 

 

What are my 
alternatives? 

 

• Compost or mulch yard waste and put the 
nutrients back into your yard. 

• Call your local Solid Waste Department for 
recycling and transfer station information. 

• See more alternatives in your area on    
Ecology’s web site: 
www.ecy.wa.gov/BreatheTheDifference 

 

Who can I call 
for help? 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

See Ecology’s website: 
www.ecy.wa.gov/BreatheTheDifference 

 
 

Washington Agricultural Burn Hotline 
1-800-406-5322 

 
 

Washington State 
Department of Natural Resources (DNR) 

1-800-527-3305 
 
 

Solid Waste Departments 
 

Chelan (509) 667-6415 
Douglas (509) 886-0899 
Kittitas (509) 962-7542 
Klickitat (509) 773-4448 
Okanogan (509) 422-2602 

 
 
Planning Departments for Counties with 

Urban Growth Areas 
 

Chelan (509) 667-6415 
Douglas (509) 884-7173 
Kittitas (509) 962-7523 
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